Home » Uncategorized » Breads Class – Week 1 of 2… to be continued.

Breads Class – Week 1 of 2… to be continued.

Hey guys,

So I have been putting this post off for a while because I just couldn’t get myself to write it. I have lots of notes that I took from the first week of class… lots of information.. recipes etc. and just didn’t know how to condense it nor did I want to try.. but.. it is sunday.. I have time… so Let’s do this! 🙂

One of the first items on our agenda was making a baguette.. now… I did share with you a recipe for a baguette from my last class… and this was very similar, for I DO have a great video for you as to how to roll out a baguette that I will share! 🙂 HERE!!

*Tip – ALWAYS slash your baguette because it is a lean bread and is NOT as flexbible. WITHOUT the slashes, your bread would most likely experience some tearing during the baking process.

FACT: Salt inhibits yeast multiplication – which is why salt is always added AFTER the yeast/water combo is fully incorporated into the flour “at pick up – where no liquid remains at the bottom of the bowl”

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

When you mix any bread that goes through the basic 45 min rest, de-gas and 45 min rest process you will form your bread into a Boule.
2 ways to use this word…

1. To Boule – the motion in which you move your hand to entrap CO2 in the bread which then allows the bread to ferment and leave = gluten development.
——–> I found this video on youtube and it is a great video to see how to actually Boule a loaf! 🙂

2. A boule – The shape after you “boule” your bread.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Yeast Facts:
Yeast loves 80 -90 degrees! 🙂
Lower temperatures – slows down the yeast
112 – 114 – yeast does not multiply much anymore
140 – yeast dies
Yeast LOVES sugars… as well as starches (which will break down into sugars)
——> at the point where the yeast consumes the sugar and starch = fermentation!

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***
(This recipe is NOT my recipe, but it was given to us from our chef at the CCA as I am just sharing it through my site)

Recipe – Honey Whole Wheat
Yields 2 loaves at 1.5 lbs

Ingredients
9 0z water
1.25 oz fresh yeast (1/2 of this for dry yeast)
11 oz Whole Wheat Flour
5 oz Milk
5 oz Honey
2 oz Butter (softened/room temp)
14 oz Bread Flour
.5 oz salt

Directions :
1. Dissolve yeast in water(80-90 degrees)
2. Add about 2/3 of the WW flour until a pancake batter texture. (Allow to sit 2-3 minutes)
3. Add milk  (about 80 degrees)
4. Add honey and butter.
5. Add remaining WW flour and Bread Flour.
6. Mix, speed 1 until pick up. (liquid is fully incorporated)
7. Add salt.
8. Mix/Knead with dough hook in mixer/by hand until the gluten window is visible.
Spray a Bowl for the dough to rest in. Boule.
Rest 45-60 minutes in a warm place (covered with plastic wrap). De-Gas (punch out). Rest 45-60 minutes covered .Scale out 2 loaves.
Degas. Shape into loave. Place in bread pan. Cover with damp cloth in warm environment for about 30 more minutes. Egg wash.

Bake 375 – 25-30 minutes!!

Now, my problem with this bread was that it is NOT really whole wheat. I like it ALL while wheat, but if you want the texture of a nice loaf, this is the way to do it unless you have something called vital wheat gluten which you can add in and will allow this to happen. I do believe we will be using this at one point, so when I do I will share it with you.

Few, I feel like that was Alot. I think I will come back again on another day this week to share with you my focaccia, butter braids and sticky buns! 🙂

Happy Monday everyone! Hope this was to much information!!
Have a great day!!

2 thoughts on “Breads Class – Week 1 of 2… to be continued.

  1. thank you so much for the recipe my dear!! i can’t wait to try it.

    i also loved to see your video from your class. and i should probably go watch the one on how to boule bread huh? since i kinda suck at it???

    by de-gas, is that like when you punch down the bread after it rises??

Leave a Reply

