Home » Uncategorized » My Christmas in a Nutshell!

My Christmas in a Nutshell!

So I want to summarize my Holiday Celebrations in a nutshell for you guys before I forget how everything went! πŸ™‚

December 23rd – Thanksgiving Dinner in December! If you read Sarah’s blog you will have found this out already… Since I moved to CA and even a little before that, we started this tradition to make Thanksgiving in December when Keith is there, or both of us. Usually it is Me, Keith, Jamie, My mom, Brad, Sarah, Brad’s Parents and SOMETIMES my Grandma and Chase and Blakey. This year it was just Brad, Sarah, Brad’s Parents, Me and my Mom and Jamie!
We always make our stuffing recipe… which is AMAZING… and other traditional yummies! Cranberry sauce, rolls, turkey, brusselsprouts etc. πŸ™‚ For all the Details, click here!

The Cranberry Sauce Recipe was one Sarah came up with this year…
1 bag of fresh cranberries
1/4 peel of orange
Entire inside of the orange
1 cup of sugar

Food Processor all of the ingredients till the consistency you want and enjoy! SOO GOOD!

Β Stuffing
3 lbs of gizzards
5 milkd Italaian Brats
2 onions
4 stalks celery
2 apples
3 bags of sage + onion croutons
1/4 t. poultry seasoning

Low boil gizzards and brats in about 8 cups of water for about 2-3 hours. Β Save broth that the meat was boiled in. Grind everything in meat grind BUT the croutons. Mix croutons with the ground up meat, veggies etc. Add reserved juice and poultry seasoning. Bake 350 for 1 hour.
**What is good about this recipe is that you can make little changes where ever you chose.

**************

Christmas Eve

We go to Jamies Mom’s house on Christmas Eve. We also do a white elephant with junk from around the house… usually a little nicer junk item is preferred! It is always a nice time. I also really enjoy that it is a small finger foods instead of a big sit down meal. This way I can really eat light without going over board.

*************

Christmas Morning

I slept in as did everyone else! It worked out well this year because sundays are my days off of working out and Christmas was on a sunday! πŸ™‚ I did not hop on the treadmill in the morning and it was nice. πŸ™‚

Brad and Sarah and the boys arrived at about 10:30 and Jamies Kids and blakey and brianna arrived shortly after. My mom puts together a yummy spread each year. THis year it was turkey salad… RECIPE TO COME….shrimp dip.. YUM…fruit salad, and a veggie tray. Just enough! πŸ™‚

We open gifts and everyone usually gets a good amount. I will tell you more about my gifts later this week. πŸ™‚

Christmas Night

At about 3ish we head on over to my Grandma Rosie’s House! (My mom’s Mom)

My WHOLE family is usually there… there is usually at least 25 of us there but it is always nice to see everyone!
We did a white elephant there too but a white elephant where you ahve to spend 20 dollars on a gifts; I did not participate but it looked fun! I did get a few little gifts from my aunts as they give little gifts each year. My Grandma also gave us a gift of money which was unexpected but nice! We had a great meal of ham, kluski noodles, salad, rolls and a few other salads!

Dessert was apple squares, a triffle and a Coffee Crunch Cake that I made! πŸ™‚

Yay! πŸ™‚ It turned out great and everyone seemed to enjoy it! πŸ™‚
Recipe is HERE!!

******

That is what my Celebrations looked like this year for the Holidays! I still have a little gathering with Keith’s Family coming up and then New years Eve… I think Keith and I are going to lay low and spend the night together! πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “My Christmas in a Nutshell!

    • It did FLY by… especially since I went home.. that always makes it go even faster! I have another little gathering tomorrow night with my boyfriends family.
      The cake turned out great! Only positive feedback about it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

