Home » Uncategorized » egg nog or hot coco?

egg nog or hot coco?

That is the theme of the post today… because well.. it is CHRISTMAS DAY! πŸ™‚
MERRY ChRiStMaS EvErYoNe! πŸ™‚

I have been seeing this on a few blogs lately, and yesterday I saw it on My lovely Sister’s Blog!

It is the grand ol’ seasonal survey, but I really wanted to partake in it, so here I am, Christmas Morning. Everyone is still sleeping, and I am in bed writing away with all my little animals cuddled up next to me. Well, maybe ONE of mine and Sarah’s and coming in and out and jumping on and off of the bed. πŸ™‚

Question 1 – Egg Nog of Hot Chocolate (coco)
Well, considering I think about Hot Chocolate as more of a seasonal drink during the colder months, I will have to say egg nog. Sarah and I are the same about this… we usually allow ourselves one glass of this each year. This year I tried the silk version and it is pretty yummy… but not EXACTLY the same. πŸ™‚ When we were little, I used to have a glass while we opened gifts… yum yum yum!

Question 2 – Β Does Santa wrap the presents, or just set them under the tree?

Well, he wraps them and would put an initial on them for us! E or L… or S for Sarah! πŸ™‚ As we got older, we started to recognize that this was my Mamas writing! πŸ™‚ But all the gifts were wrapped… and they were delivered by my grandparents because they would have all the gifts over at their house… trickyy!!

Question 3 – Colored lights/White lights on tree/house?

The older bigger lights outside on the house πŸ™‚ and… I do love the colored lights on the tree. I think Keith and I will be very traditional when it comes to getting our tree.. but I do think ALL trees, traditional or creative are such a cool thing! πŸ™‚ Same with the house, I do love some white lights all over the place, but color is soo crazy and cool! πŸ™‚

Question 4 – Do you hang Mistletoe?Β 

We did not this year in our apartment, although we could have.. it is kind of cute.. but we give smooches all the time anyway! Growing up, we did have one for a few years and I can remember exactly where we put it too! πŸ™‚

Question 5 – When do you put your decorations up?

This year, I put my snowflakes up a little before because it was getting cold out.. πŸ™‚ Then I put up the rest right around thanksgiving. I can’t help it, I love it and get way to inpatient so I just put them up! Judge me if you must… or just join me!

Question 6 – What is your favorite Holiday Dish?

I LOVE ham with yummy warm sweet buns! πŸ™‚ I NEVER really eat rolls/buns like this where you can actually see how white the bread is… and ham is just top on my list! When the powers combine… they win! πŸ™‚

Question 7 – What is/was on your Christmas list?

Well, since I really have not opened up my gifts yet, I can still do this! πŸ™‚ I know a few of them because I picked them out but… I have alot of things I would like/need…

Hand mixer,sifter,thermometer for candy, yoga pants, boots, workout tops, weighted jump rope, undies, new jeans…..

Questions 8 – Do you open gifts on Christmas Eve?

Well, kind of. We go to my step dad’s side of the family this night and we do a white elephant (with junk). IF you consider that a gift, then yes.
When we were little, that was a different story. Santa actually came to our house first, so we would go to church and then out for dinner and make a few visiting stops after that and then he came during that time! πŸ™‚ When we arrived home we would have to sing carols… AHH! This was torture for little kids to stand there, sing songs and look at all of their unknown gifts! πŸ™‚ When I look back now, it was great! πŸ™‚ My dad would also request some songs on the piano, take his time putting things away etc. because I think as a parent, you enjoy seeing the excitement!

Question 9 – How do you decorate your tree?

Well, Keith and I did not get a tree this year.. 😦 It was our first time that we could have, but all my ornaments that my mom has been saving for me as a baby were in WI so I couldn’t get to them. We will be using all those and most likely I will start buying Keith a unique ornament each year; I think that is a great tradition!

My Step Dad grew up putting popcorn on the ends of the branches with frosting when we he was little and with his kids. I don’t know if I will keep up that tradition because it doesn’t really have a TON of meaning for me yet.. yes, I do help them do it every year, but it is tedious! πŸ™‚

Question 10 – Snow, love it or dread it?

Well, since I have been away, I realize my body really needs the snow/season change. I really never LOVED driving in snow, but if you take the precautions you need you will be fine. I love looking at it and going snowboarding/skiing etc. in it. I really don’t mind not having to drive in it though, but everything else I LOVE about it!

Question 11 – Real or Fake?Β 

REAL!
The ONLY ONLY WAY.. I will ever get a fake one is if anyone in my family has an allergy, or I get to old to go out and get one and no one else can get one for me…. and if I have to leave it for more than a week without water. It is only a month, yes you will have to vacuum a few times a week and water it… is it really THAT much work?

Questions 12 – What is the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Being with family, being warm, laughing, making yummy treats and just everything else that comes along with it!
Nothing feels better than giving hugs and seeing family!

Question 13 – What is your Favorite Holiday Dessert?

MY MY MY puppy chow hands down! I look forward to this every year! πŸ™‚ AND my glass of egg nog!

 

Question 14 – What is your favorite tradition?

I LOVED everything we did growing up, but I would say I really love preparing food in the kitchen. I do love the new tradition of finding the pickle in the tree, as Sarah mentioned in her post above…

BUT…

Something that I want to start for Keith and I have kids etc. is having a really cool breakfast Christmas Morning. My mom puts together a brunch assortment right now, but I would LOVE to have cinnamon rolls with a special hot coco or something each year that we eat in our Christmas P.J’s and we open our gifts. πŸ™‚

Question 15 – Giving or Receiving? Which do you prefer!

I think the feeling I get from doing both is equal! :)..especially when it is your close family and you know you hit the nail on the head for their gift! πŸ™‚

Question 16 – Favorite Christmas Song?

I LOOOOVE anything by straight no chaser… but I LOVE Ave Maria – by Beyonce
p.s… I LOVE it all really!!

Question 17 – Β Favorite Christmas Movie?

I love little Women… I LOVE the Holiday…

Question 18 – Do you prefer to shop online or in stores?

In Store, depends on the day I may not mind all the hustle and bustle. Β I need to touch/feel/see the gift before I buy it.

Question 19 – Christmas Card or Letter?

I love the thought of a letter. I thought about doing one this year because it is really nice to sit down and read how your family is doing especially when we live far away. I love the letters that are done month-month. πŸ™‚ I do love a simple card too. Β It all depends on how much time one has too.

Few!! That was alot of thinking but the holidays make me so happy so it is a-o-k!

p.s… no pictures.. this internet is WAY TO SLOW!

MeRrRRRRRy ChRiStMaS!

Leave a Reply

