Home » Uncategorized » …lucky enough to potluck?

…lucky enough to potluck?

because I know I am! 🙂

Keith and I had a potluck last weekend and it was a blast!!
It all started out with a little facebook invite!

We invited all sorts of Keith’s friends, the set of 2 friends that
I have here! 🙂

In total we had 5 couples that were at our apartment including Keith and I!

********

The hard part of having a potluck is what to make! 🙂
Potlucks are a great time to try new dishes!
So we thought and thought…

hot tamales.. (sloppy joes)
mexican roll ups…
pizza…

Then we finally decided on an oriental coleslaw that my mom makes
AND Keith wanted wiener wraps!

We made the wiener wraps with aidellis mini apple chicken sausage and some cream cheese in the wrap ups and they were super de duper good! 🙂
My friend Ms. B is goofy about what kind of meat she eats and she was pleased to find out that these were chicken sausages and not beef! 🙂

Along with those, I told you that I made a oriental coleslaw and it was wonderful!
*Recipe to come*

**********

One little twist happen during the night…
Right before we were ready to eat and all the food was on the table,
the lights went out!
ALLLLL of the lights went out!!

Our flashlight = dead
candles = 3 of them
cellphones = ALOT! 🙂

We ended up sitting around the living room in a circle in the candle/cell phone light…

…listening to OLD OLD c.d’s on my laptop that was luckily charged! 🙂


assortment of drinks/wine glasses 🙂

And this was our table…
A bbq chicken pizza from whole foods,
Spinach salad
Chicken enchiladas
Chicken/avocado pasta dish
Oriental coleslaw
Wiener wraps
Drinks!

I didn’t make dessert because one of our fiends said she was making dessert!
(Pictureless)
Pumpkin Bars that were delicious!!!

*** I don’t know where the recipe came from and I did not write the recipe ***

Pumpkin Butter Dessert Squares
1 package yellow cake mix; set aside 1 cup
1/2 cup butter, melted
3 eggs
1 jar of pumpkin butter
2 tbsp. milk
1 tbsp flour
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 tsp. cinnamon
Preheat over to 350 F.  Divide yellow cake mix, placing all but one cup in a mixing bowl.  Stir the melted butter and one egg into the cake mix.  Press the mixture into the bottom of a greased 9″x13″ pan. (Although the pan I used was a bit smaller I think).  Mix the jar of pumpkin butter with two eggs and milk.  Pour over the cake mix.  Stir the reserved cup of cake mix with the flour, sugar, softened butter and cinnamon. (I used my hands for this). Mix together until crumbly.  Sprinkle over top of the pumpkin layer.  Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool.  Cut into 2″ squares.  Serves 24.

YUM!!!

Here are a few pictures of some of the friends that came!

I don’t have pictures of the 2 other couples.. 😦

I do have a picture of my plate though!

Yay! I do love potlucks! 🙂
Do you have a go to dish for potlucks? 

2 thoughts on “…lucky enough to potluck?

Leave a Reply

