Home » Uncategorized » Its the most, wonderful time.. of the year! TIME FOR SQUASH!

Its the most, wonderful time.. of the year! TIME FOR SQUASH!

Yes Ladies and Gentlemen, This is the time of the year when it just feels right to eat squash, smell it, bake with it, decorate with it and the list goes on and on! 🙂 It is such a beautiful vegetable and when you add ingredients it only gets better!!

So why I decided to bring up squash… well.. it was on sale at the store and was calling my name!

I picked up a spagetti squash as well as an acorn squash.

While I was at the gym I was thinking of everything that we had at home that could make something delcious.

….squash…aidelli sausage…plums…apples….

Then I did a little recipe hunting and between a few recipes I came up with this one! 🙂

Crock Pot Style Acorn Squash stuffed with Umami! 🙂

1 Acorn Squash – Seeds taken out! 2. 1 Plum 3. 1 Apple… I used good ol’ granny smith! 4. Sausage of some type! (links, or ground – if ground.. you must cook first)


5. Onion
6. Salt
7. Oregano
8. A little Brown Suga

First you take the seeds and guts out of the acorn squash and slice in half. After this is done, chop up the apple and plum with peel on! Vegetable Peelers are nutrient steelers.. BTW!

Cut up the sausage and onion too.  Put all the chopped ingredients in a bowl, add the salt and oregano. I put a little brown sugar on the bottom of the squash. Then you mix it up and place 1 cupful in each half of the squash.  Place the two halves in the crock pot and set crockpot on low for 6-8 hours until the squash is tender! Let me tell you… YUM!

I also had alot of leftover chopped up goodies that I just threw in a fry pan and cooked up for a little extra yummy goodness for the squash.

 

I also cooked up a little couscous for the side and we were smooth sailing!

SUPER quick, SUPER yummy, SUPER easy!

This recipe made it into my recipe card box! 🙂

Anyone have any great SUPER squash recipes that they want to throw this way?

2 thoughts on “Its the most, wonderful time.. of the year! TIME FOR SQUASH!

Leave a Reply

